University of California Nematologists and Their Research Areas

  Rev 10/09/07
James G. Baldwin 
   Ph.D. 1973, Plant Pathology, North Carolina State University
   U.C. Riverside
   Nematode morphology and anatomy
   james.baldwin@ucr.edu
Chair, Department of Nematology, UC Riverside

 

Ole Becker
   Ph.D. 1982, Georg August Universitat, Goettingen, Germany
   U.C. Riverside
   Extension nematology
   ole.becker@ucr.edu
picture of Dr Becker
Edward P. Caswell-Chen
   Ph.D. 1985, Plant Pathology, University of California, Riverside
   U.C. Davis
   Cropping systems design, allelopathy, population genetics
   epcaswell@ucdavis.edu

Associate Dean, Graduate Studies, UC Davis

Howard Ferris
   Ph.D. 1972, Plant Pathology, North Carolina State University
   U.C. Davis
   Pest management, population biology, soil community ecology, management decision systems, bacterial-and fungal-feeding nematodes and nitrogen mineralization
   hferris@ucdavis.edu
Bruce A. Jaffee
   Ph.D. 1981, Plant Pathology, Cornell University
   U.C. Davis
   Biological antagonists of nematodes, biological control
   bajaffee@ucdavis.edu
Isghoui Kaloshian
   Ph.D. 1988, Plant Pathology, University of California, Riverside
   U.C. Riverside
   Molecular biology of plant-nematode interactions
   isghoui.kaloshian@ucr.edu

Kaloshian Biography

Harry K. Kaya (Chair - Davis)
   Ph.D. 1970, Entomology, University of California, Berkeley
   U.C. Davis
   Biological control of insects with entomogenous nematodes
   hkkaya@ucdavis.edu
Michael V. McKenry
   Ph.D. 1972, Plant Pathology, University of California, Riverside
   U.C. Riverside
   Nematode management in perennial crops, extension nematology
   michael.mckenry@ucr.edu
Steven A. Nadler
   Ph.D. 1985, Medical Parasitology, Louisiana State University Medical Center
   U.C. Davis
   Evolutionary biology, nematode taxonomy and phylogeny, animal-parsitic nematodes
   sanadler@ucdavis.edu

Chair, Department of Nematology, UC Davis

Edward G. Platzer
   Ph.D. 1968, Parasitology, University of Massachussets
   U.C. Riverside
   Nematode biochemistry and physiology
   edward.platzer@ucr.edu
Antoon T. Ploeg
   Ph.D. 1992, St. Andrews University, Scotland
   U.C. Riverside
   Nematodes of annual crops, virus vectors, Extension nematology
   antoon.ploeg@ucr.edu
Philip A. Roberts
   Ph.D. 1978, Biology, University of Birmingham
   Associate Dean, College of Agriculture and Natural Sciences
   U.C. Riverside
   Host plant resistance, host-parasite interactions
   philip.roberts@ucr.edu

Roberts Biography

Becky B. Westerdahl
   Ph.D. 1973, Biology, University of California, Riverside
   U.C. Davis
   Nematode management, extension nematology
   bbwesterdahl@ucdavis.edu
Valerie M. Williamson
   Ph.D. Biochemistry, University of California, Davis
   U.C. Davis
   Molecular biology of the host-parasite interaction
   vmwilliamson@ucdavis.edu

Williamson Biography

Return to General Nematology Menu